Discoveries of Mind

Psychodynamic therapist should be a stranger

Therapist cannot treat his own family members, friends and relatives because,

Psychodynamic predictions tries to explain the unconscious.

If therapist already knows patient,

Psychodynamic predictions made by therapist might get influenced by his own perception of patient.

Narration of patient might get influenced by his perception of therapist.

Ill give an example. If we buy gift to friend, we will buy according to her taste. If we buy gift to stranger, we will buy according to our own taste. So our taste will be reflected only if we are unaware of others taste.

If therapist thinks that he is efficient enough to handle influence, he is actually inefficient.

Belief that a therapist can control influence is false because only conscious is in our hand and not the unconscious. 

Belief that unconscious has no effect is false because all psychodynamic predictions are based mainly on unconscious.

About Niharika

I am the founder of Discoveries of Mind. I am a psychology student. Though I am from science background, I decided to become a psychologist on seeing the need in the society for psychological support. I could see psychological causes behind many problems in the society such as ill health, job inefficiency and relationship issues. I aspire to make contribution to the society and I have chosen psychology by thinking that it is the best means to achieve my goal. Previously before joining in psychology, I have done my under graduation and post-graduation in life sciences. I worked as a junior research fellow for three years. I also completed a PG diploma in forensic science and criminal justice. I realized the power of psychological tools for the first time during my diploma. I am a philosophical, independent person and I have thirst for knowledge. Gardening, singing and playing flute are my hobbies. Yours truly Niharika

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 8 Jun 2017 by in All Posts, Mental Health, Therapy Tips.
Follow Discoveries of Mind on WordPress.com
